In The Rule, Saint Benedict of Norcia (c. 540 A.D.) stresses the importance of community, living a balanced life, hospitality and generosity of spirit. The Benedictine Scholars Program began in Fall 2012 with the mission to promote a deeper understanding of the Benedictine values and heritage that define our institution.

Program Description

Each year, ten high-achieving first-year students are selected as Benedictine Scholars. Scholars serve as ambassadors of the Benedictine values, including the core values of our institution – faith, reason, service and community. Scholars are each awarded a $10,000 scholarship to support their education at Saint Martin’s University. This scholarship is renewed annually, provided that Scholars maintain a 3.0 GPA and participate in program events, meetings and projects.

Benedictine Scholars participate in several activities, including a Benedictine Scholars orientation, monthly meetings, retreats and the Benedictine Leaders Program. Scholars serve their communities, meet in small groups called Socios and work on a project of their cohort's own choosing. In addition, Scholars volunteer for Saint Martin’s events such as Spirit Days, the Gala and commencement activities. First-year Scholars live in the Norcia Leaders Community, a residence hall floor that focuses on leadership, service and community-building.

Application Process

The Scholars program is highly competitive. Candidates are identified by the Office of Admissions during the application process, based on their academic records, leadership experiences, extracurricular activities and service. Candidates are invited to interview on-campus during Benedictine Scholars Day (typically in March) or over the phone. After their interview, candidates are asked to submit an essay that is evaluated as part of the selection process.


  • Cohort Seven (2018)
    • Dagny Ahrend (Ephrata Senior High School - Ephrata, WA) 
    • Christopher Carlisle (Rochester High School - Rochester, WA)
    • Lauren Chung (Sacred Hearts Academy High School - Honolulu, HI)
    • Hannah Erwin (Aberdeen High School - Aberdeen, WA)
    • Katelynn Gulley (Curtis Senior High School - Tacoma, WA)
    • Zachary Hansen (Washington Virtual Academy School - Shelton, WA)
    • Madelaine O’Neil (Woodland High School - Woodland, WA)
    • Shannen Sakai (Pearl City High School - Pearl City, HI)
    • Cesar Sandoval (Orting High School - Ortin, WA)
    • Ian James Yadao (Waipahu High School - Waipahu, HI)
  • Cohort Six (2017)
    • Beryl Baon (Waipahu High School - Waipahu, HI)
    • Rowan Carabba (Mount Baker Senior High School)
    • Jarek Dabrowski (Tumwater High School - Tumwater, WA)
    • Miguel De La Melena (Union High School - Vancouver, WA)
    • Marie Dhanens (Timberline High School - Olympia, WA)
    • Jason Fairhurst (Snohomish Senior High School - Snohomish, WA)
    • Dakota Hill (Yelm High School - Yelm, WA)
    • Soleil Lewis (Thomas Jefferson High School - Auburn, WA)
    • Ashley Taylor (Riverside Poly High School - Riverside, CA)
    • Francis Yarofalyango (Yap Catholic High School - Yap, Federated States of Micronesia)
  • Cohort Five (2016)
    • Miriam Bautista-Rodriguez (Royal High School - Royal City, WA)
    • Luis Camacho (Quincy High School - Quincy, WA)
    • Keevan Forbes-Kashani (Capital High School - Olympia, WA)
    • Alesha Garand (Newberg Senior High School - Newberg, OR)
    • Cor Kruithof III (Woodrow Wilson High School - Tacoma, WA)
    • Dylon Maertens (Tahoma Senior High School - Maple Valley, WA)
    • Sheridan Menard (Mountain View High School - Kuna, ID)
    • Michael Otter-Johnson (Timberline High School - Olympia, WA)
    • Tracey Porter (Franklin Pierce High School - Tacoma, WA)
    • Kaitlyn Slade (Waipahu High School - Waipahu, HI)
  • Cohort Four (2015)
    • Samantha Bibeau (Olympia High School - Olympia, WA)
    • Elizabeth Colon (North Thurston High School - Olympia, WA)
    • Lauren Diuco (Capistrano Valley High School - Mission Viejo, CA)
    • Kaylin Fosnacht (Rochester High School - Rochester, WA)
    • Rachel Gondrezick (Judge Memorial Catholic High School - Salt Lake City, UT)
    • Nicholas Hollander (Timberline High School - Lacey, WA)
    • Roger Linhart (Loyola Sacred Heart High School - Missoula, MT)
    • Brittany Lyndon (Clear Springs High School - League City, TX)
    • Matthew Nguyen (Auburn Riverside High School - Auburn, WA)
    • Megan Vernoy (Heritage High School - Brentwood, CA)
  • Cohort Three (2014)
    • Belana Anderson (Timberline High School - Lacey, WA)
    • Jessica Bever (Capital High School - Olympia, WA)
    • Michael Dominguez (Northwest Christian High School - Olympia, WA)
    • Alyssa Fink (Central Kitsap High School - Poulsbo, WA)
    • Morgan Olson (Tahoma Senior High School - Ravensdale, WA)
    • Andrew Raab (East Valley High School - Yakima, WA)
    • Matthew Ramos (Pope John Paul II High School - Olympia, WA)
    • Katherine Rieger (Thomas Jefferson High School - Kent, WA) 
    • Nicolle Saucedo (Kent-Meridian High School - Kent, WA) 
    • Taylor Wolf (Blanchet Catholic School - Gervais, OR)
  • Cohort Two (2013)
    • Anna Agloro (Yelm High School - Port Ludlow, WA)
    • Ian Boyle (Seton Catholic Prep High School - Ridgefield, WA)
    • Hope Chamberlain (Port Angeles High School - Port Angeles, WA)
    • Matthew Jankovic (Cascade Senior High School - Everett, WA)
    • Madeleine Knecht (Gig Harbor High School - Gig Harbor, WA)
    • Chelsea Luna (North Marion High School - Hubbard, OR)
    • Claire Palmiter  (Gresham Union High School - Gresham, OR)
    • Gerardo Ponce Rodriguez (Everett High School - Everett, WA)
    • Melissa Roth (Holy Names Academy - Lynnwood, WA)
    • Corbin Schamber (Homedale High School - Homedale, ID)
  • Cohort One (2012)
    • Josiah Dailey (West Anchorage High School - Anchorage, AK)
    • Dean Decker (Emerald Ridge High School - Puyallup, WA)
    • Cody Gilomen (Kentlake High School - Kent, WA)
    • Derrick Gonzales (Moses Lake Senior High School - Moses Lake, WA)
    • Renee Hudson (Everett High School, Everett - WA)
    • Garrett Mason (Mountlake Terrace High School - Mountlake Terrace, WA)
    • Dalia Pedro-Trujillo (Highline High School - Burien, WA)
    • Amy Pollard (Squalicum High School - Bellingham, WA)
    • Jerica Saucedo (Kent-Meridian High School - Snoqualmie, WA)
    • Annabel Warnell (Emerald Ridge High School - Puyallup, WA)

Learn More

  • FAQ

    What do you look for in applicants?

    Benedictine Scholars are selected not only for their academic excellence, but also for their commitment to leadership, service, and promoting the common good.

    Do I have to be Catholic?

    No. Benedictine Scholars represent a broad spectrum of faith traditions. This program is not Catholic per se; rather, the Scholars’ presence and leadership on campus helps to foster Benedictine values, which are universal and relevant to people from all faith traditions.

    What if I can’t make it to Benedictine Scholars Day for my interview?

    Candidates can make arrangements to interview over the phone if they live outside western Washington or have special circumstances that prevent them from interviewing on campus.

    When will I be notified?

    Candidates will be notified in April or May

Community on canvas