The mission of the Staff Welfare Committee is to actively listen, communicate and recognize staff needs based on a foundation of the University’s four core themes: faith, reason, service and community. The Committee ensures staff is deeply connected to the range of University issues contributing to the success of Saint Martin's University while supporting and enhancing the growth, welfare, and best interests of staff through productive leadership. The Committee does so by promoting active participation, open dialogue, and collaboration between staff, faculty and University leadership.

Committee Information

SWC Logo

Meeting Information

Staff Welfare Committee meetings are open for all staff to attend and share their voice. Below are the upcoming committee meetings. Please email us for the Zoom Meeting information to join us virtually.

Meeting Information
Jan. 10 @ 3:30 p.m.
Feb. 22 @ 1:30 p.m.
March 14 @ 3:30 p.m.
April 11 @ 3:30 p.m.
May 9 @ 3:30 p.m.

Election Process

Do you have a colleague in mind that would be a great addition to the Staff Welfare Committee? Are you interested in serving your staff colleagues on the Committee? You may nominate yourself or others at the form below. Annual elections take place in the summer.

Committee members must be prepared to meet at least once a month for the monthly meeting and be prepared for additional projects as needed. All full-time staff employees, up to and including director level, who have been employed for at least one year are eligible to serve on the Committee.

Nominate Here

Statement of Solidarity

In light of events happening across the country and on our campus, the Committee has created a Statement of Solidarity. Creating change is a team effort that will require input from many voices. The committee looks forward to collaborating with institution leaders and colleagues to ensure Saint Martin’s continues to make steps forward toward being a more inclusive, anti-racist environment for all employees and students. For feedback, questions or concerns, please contact the committee at

Read Here

Staff Resources

Professional Development Funding

Brother Lawrence Vogel, O.S.B. Staff Professional Development Program

It is the belief of Saint Martin’s University leadership and your Staff Welfare Committee that professional development and continuous learning are necessary to maintain the quality of the University staff and their continued readiness and ability to contribute effectively to the mission and goals of the University.

This is an award of up to $500 per request per fiscal year to supplement department training budgets or to give staff without training dollars the opportunity to grow professionally. Departments hosting in-house development events or events that provide development opportunities for all members of their department at once are eligible for an award of up to $1,000 per fiscal year to support the event. All benefit eligible non-faculty staff who have completed twelve months of employment are eligible to apply for funding.

This award is not intended for staff in departments with adequate training budgets and resources, expenses not associated with activities supporting SMU’s mission, expenses that do not relate directly to the staff’s current job responsibilities, tuition and fees, annual or stand-alone certification or licensing, membership fees, or retroactive reimbursement for events or activities.

Apply Here

Committee Membership

Nate Peters, Chair

Nate Peters

Committee Chair

Sr. Director of Development, Major & Planned Gifts
Office of Institutional Advancement | 360-438-4294

Alyssa Nastasi, Vice Chair

Alyssa Nastasi

Committee Vice Chair

Associate Director of Career Development
Peace Corps Program Coordinator
Office of Career Development | 360-923-8791

Hannah Snow, Secretary

Hannah Snow

Committee Secretary

Assistant Director Admissions Marketing and Events
Office of Admissions | 360-412-6180


Member NameOffice Representation
Lil Austin

Graphic Designer
Office of Marketing and Communications | 360-412-6154

Crystal Cardona

Campus Minister for Outreach & Justice
Office of Campus Ministries | 360-438-4581

Timothy Martinez Greer

Assistant Director of Graduate Programs
Office of Graduate Admissions | 360-412-6128

Sarah Haugh

Associate Director, Housing and Residence Life
Office of Housing and Residence Life | 360-486-8875

Chani Lilla

Student Health Center Nurse
Student Health Center | 360-412-6160

Jake McGaffin

Assistant Director of Military Programs
SMU - JBLM Extension Campus | 253-964-4688

Jeff Morgan

Event Services Specialist Custodian
Office of Event Services | 360-438-4488