

To Whom it May Concern,

March 22, 2024

Yesterday morning (3/21/24), the Faculty Senate of Saint Martin's University held an emergency hybrid meeting on campus and via Zoom to discuss recent events, the issuance of terminal contracts, and the future of the university. During that meeting, members of the Senate moved and seconded a motion to hold a Vote of No Confidence against Interim Co-President Roy Heynderickx. After lengthy discussion, the question was called and a vote was taken by secret ballot. Of the 13 members of the Senate, 12 voted to support a Vote of No Confidence, with one senator abstaining. The motion passed.

Shortly thereafter, the Senate moved and seconded a motion to hold a Vote of No Confidence against Provost Tanya Smith Brice, following the same procedure outlined above. Of the 13 members of the Senate, 10 voted to support a Vote of No Confidence, 2 were opposed the motion, and 1 abstained from voting. The motion passed.

Yesterday afternoon (3/21/24), Faculty President Ian Werrett called emergency meeting of the Full Faculty to discuss recent events and apprise the faculty of the actions taken by the Senate. During this meeting, faculty were asked to vote on whether to support or reject the Senate's Votes of No Confidence against Interim Co-President Roy Heynderickx and Provost Tanya Smith Brice. After lengthy discussion, a vote was taken. Of the 57-voting faculty who were present, 52 voted in favor of supporting the Senate's Vote of No Confidence against Interim Co-President Roy Heynderickx, 3 were against it, and 2 abstained from voting. Similarly, of the 59-voting faculty who were present, 50 voted in favor of the Senate's Vote of No Confidence against Provost Tanya Smith Brice, 5 were opposed to it, and 4 abstained from voting.

Earlier this morning (3/22/24), Faculty President Ian Werrett and Faculty President Elect Kathleen McKain shared the results of yesterday's meetings with Interim Co-President Roy Heynderickx and Provost Tanya Smith Brice. We trust that you will take the faculty's profound lack of confidence in the leadership of Dr. Heynderickx and Dr. Smith Brice into consideration in the coming days and weeks. Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Respectfully,

Dr. Ian Werrett Professor of Theology and Religious Studies Faculty President AY 2023/24 Professor Kathleen McKain Department of World Languages Faculty President AY 2024/25