What is Title IX?

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 prohibits discrimination based on sex in education programs and activities in federally funded schools at all levels.

Title IX protects students, employees, applicants for admission and employment, and other persons from all forms of sex discrimination, including discrimination based on gender identity or failure to conform to stereotypical notions of masculinity or femininity.

Saint Martin's University Title IX policy

Sex discrimination and/or misconduct is prohibited by Saint Martin's University’s Anti-Harassment and Non-Discrimination and Sexual Misconduct policies. Any act of sexual violence, sexual harassment, sexual discrimination, sexual misconduct, domestic violence, dating violence or stalking is prohibited under these policies.

Get help now

Remember, you are not alone.

If you or someone you know has experience sexual violence, sexual harassment, sexual ddiscrimination, sexual misconduct, domestic violence, dating violence or stalking, Saint Martin's University has free resources for students.

Consider reporting to the University

Formal reporting resources

Cynthia Johnson

Cynthia Johnson

Title IX Coordinator
360-688-2290
CJohnson@stmartin.edu
Old Main 203

Will Stakelin

Will Stakelin

Director of Public Safety
360-438-4354
WStakelin@stmartin.edu
Old Main 247

Melanie Richardson

Melanie Richardson

Dean of Students
360-438-4367
MRichardson@stmartin.edu
Old Main 206

Kathleen Boyle

Kathleen Boyle

Provost, Vice President of Academic Affairs
360-438-4310
KBoyle@stmartin.edu
Old Main 269

Confidential resources

Angela Carlin

Angela Carlin

360-412-6155
ACarlin@stmartin.edu
Old Main 316

Emily Coyle

Emily Coyle

360-438-4301
ECoyle@stmartin.edu
Old Main 341

Seek medical attention

  • Providence Saint Peter Hospital 
    • 360-491-9480
    • 413 Lilly Rd NE, Olympia, WA 98506
  • Student Health Center
    • ​360-412-6160
    • Burton Hall, room 102

Consider reporting to law enforcement

  • Lacey Police Department
    • 360-459-4333
    • 420 College St SE, Lacey, WA 98503