Benedictine Scholars 2013

On April 30, 2013, Saint Martin's announced its second cohort of Benedictine Scholars.

Chosen from a pool of 75 candidates who interviewed for the 2013-17 program, the scholars aim to embody the Saint Martin’s core values as a Catholic, Benedictine institution, regardless of their individual faith or religious affiliation. These values are implicit in The Rule of Saint Benedict, which was written c. 540 A.D. by Saint Benedict of Norcia and remains today a guide to community living that addresses spiritual and practical concerns. The expectation is that once their first year is completed, Benedictine Scholars will carry the core values of Saint Martin’s out into the wider community and mentor incoming cohorts of Benedictine Scholars.

The Saint Martin’s Office of Admissions identifies the Benedictine Scholars candidates. They typically are students whose academic records are matched by their leadership experiences, their contributions to the life of their school or faith communities, and their service to individuals and groups.

The average grade point average (GPA) for the incoming scholars is 3.93 out of 4.0 and three of the ten are the first in their families to attend college. Each scholar is offered a $10,000 renewable scholarship.

The 2013-17 Benedictine Scholars are as follows:

  • Anna Agloro (Yelm High School, Port Ludlow, Wash.)
  • Ian Boyle (Seton Catholic Prep High School, Ridgefield, Wash.)
  • Hope Chamberlain (Port Angeles High School, Port Angeles, Wash.)
  • Matthew Jankovic (Cascade Senior High School, Everett, Wash.)
  • Madeleine Knecht (Gig Harbor High School, Gig Harbor, Wash.)
  • Chelsea Luna (North Marion High School, Hubbard, Ore.)
  • Claire Palmiter (Gresham Union High School, Gresham, Ore.)
  • Gerardo Ponce Rodriguez (Everett High School, Everett, Wash.)
  • Melissa Roth (Holy Names Academy, Lynnwood)
  • Corbin Schamber (Homedale High School, Homedale, Idaho)