Saint Martin's University partners with third Korean University

December 14, 2009

Lacey, Washington — On Monday, December 14, Saint Martin’s University president, Dr. Roy Heynderickx, and Dr. Byongtae Jeon, president of Konkuk University in Korea, signed an academic exchange agreement. Founded in 1946, Konkuk University is a private university located in the southeastern part of Seoul that emphasizes technology and science majors and research. Also representing Konkuk University at the signing were Dr. Gye-Rae Tack, vice president of International Affairs, and Dr. Heoung-Jung Kang, director of International Trade.

Under this agreement, Konkuk will send 5-10 students each year to Saint Martin’s for ESL and undergraduate studies. The relationship is made possible through Young Oh, senior international trade specialist of U.S. Commercial Service. Young Oh has been working with Saint Martin’s University on academic exchange and trade development for the last ten years.

“We are excited about developing a ‘sister university’ relationship with Konkuk University,” said Josephine Yung, associate dean of International Programs & Development. “The presence of Korean students on our campus will further enhance the international experiences of our students. Presently, we have international students from 16 different countries. We are a step closer to making Saint Martin’s University a truly international community.”

Saint Martin’s already has similar “sister university” agreements with two other Korean universities, Sogang University and Cheongju University. Saint Martin’s also has sister universities in other Asian countries, including five in Japan (including Mukogawa Women’s University and Reitaku University), three in China (including Shanghai Maritime), and one in Taiwan (Chung Shan Medical University).

For more information about the academic exchange agreement, contact Josephine Yung at

Saint Martin’s University is an independent four-year, Catholic, coeducational university located on a 380-acre wooded campus in Lacey, Washington. Established in 1895 by the Catholic Order of Saint Benedict, the University is one of 18 Benedictine colleges and universities in the United States and Canada, and the only one west of the Rocky Mountains. Saint Martin’s University prepares students for successful lives through its 21 majors and six graduate programs spanning the liberal arts, business, education and engineering. Saint Martin’s welcomes 1,250 students from many ethnic and religious backgrounds to its main campus, and 650 more to its five extension campuses located at Fort Lewis Army Post, McChord Air Force Base, Olympic College, Centralia College, and Tacoma Community College.

For additional information:

Genevieve Canceko Chan
Director of Communications & Marketing