Washington State Patrol honors two Saint Martin’s University staff members

Patrol grateful for excellent quality of service

October 24, 2008

The Washington State Patrol recently presented Steve Monroe and Orion Desilets, members of Saint Martin’s conference services staff, the 2008 Washington State Patrol Chief’s Coin in recognition of their outstanding service to the Patrol when it lost two beloved family members in the passing of Retired Chiefs Wil Bachofner and George Tellevik.


In the citation, Chief John Batiste said that the memorial services for Chiefs Bachofner and Tellevik “would not have been successfully conducted without the expert and professional assistance of Monroe and Desilets.” He also cited their positive attitude even as they had to rearrange the Hal and Inge Marcus Pavilion at Saint Martin’s University on short notice to accommodate the services.

The Chief’s Coin comes from a military tradition and is awarded to recognize service that exceeds expectations and that improves the department’s morale and exemplifies the spirit of public service.

When making the presentation, Captain Mark Couey and Lt. Keith Huntley said that Monroe and Desilets represent the best of what the Chief’s Coin represents.

Saint Martin’s University is an independent four-year, Catholic, coeducational university located on a 320-acre wooded campus in Lacey, Washington. Established in 1895 by the Catholic Order of Saint Benedict, the University is one of 18 Benedictine colleges and universities in the United States and Canada, and the only one west of the Rocky Mountains. Saint Martin’s University prepares students for successful lives through its 21 majors and six graduate programs spanning the liberal arts, business, education and engineering. Saint Martin’s welcomes 1,250 student from many ethnic and religious backgrounds to its main campus, and 650 more to its five extension campuses located at Fort Lewis Army Post, McChord Air Force Base, Olympic College, Centralia College and Tacoma Community College.

For additional information:

Stephen C. McGlone
Vice president for institutional advancement