Saint Martin's chapter of National Engineering Honorary to be established

Tuesday, April 1, 2003

Lacey - A chapter of Pi Tau Sigma National Mechanical Engineering Honor Society will be formally established at Saint Martin’s College Thursday, April 3, with a dinner and ceremony at 6 p.m. in the college’s Worthington Conference Center. The organization’s national president, Victor Goldschmidt, Ph.D., professor emeritus of Purdue University, will speak and induct the chapter’s first members.

Saint Martin's College is the 154th chapter of the honorary and will go by the name “Alpha Tau,” said chapter advisor Isaac Jung, associate professor of mechanical engineering. Pi Tau Sigma was founded to establish a closer bond among students and practicing mechanical engineers. It honors and encourages superior scholarship and advances the ideals of the engineering profession, as well as promotes interest in the field, professionalism and leadership.

Saint Martin’s mechanical engineering department was established in 1990 and now numbers 45 students. Twelve students with grade point averages of 3.33 or above, based on a 4.0 scale, have qualified for membership. They will be inducted at Thursday’s ceremony, where each will receive a large metal key, the honorary’s symbol.

Mechanical engineering students being inducted are:

Michael J. Dekker Junior Rainier
Tracy R. Delong Senior Tacoma
Lesley A. Evans Senior Tacoma
Chris Gish Junior Olympia
Christopher L. Hahn Senior Puyallup
Mike N. Kuneman Senior Tacoma
Bien D. Mai Senior Olympia
Jonathan W. Maxion Junior Olympia
Cecil H. Ramsey Senior Tenino
Kirsti Rhoads-Wyzik Senior Olympia
Amanda S. Root Senior Olympia
Kurt P. Wright Senior Fox Island

For more information:
Isaac H. Jung, associate professor
Mechanical engineering

Deanna Partlow, media relations
Saint Martin’s Office of Communication
360-438-4541 or