2012-2013 Benedictine scholars

Benedictine Scholars 2012

In August 2012, Saint Martin’s University welcomed its first cadre of Benedictine Scholars. As the inaugural members of the new Benedictine Institute Scholarship program, these students are instrumental in the University-wide effort to understand, strengthen and articulate the centuries-old Catholic, Benedictine values of Saint Martin’s.

Throughout their years at Saint Martin’s University, the Scholars will participate in several activities focused on our Benedictine values. Those values, first set down by Italy’s Saint Benedict of Nursia in about 540 A.D., have anchored Saint Martin’s Abbey and University since their founding in the 1890s. They spring from The Rule of Saint Benedict, a small guide whose 73 chapters provide both spiritual and practical touchstones that remain relevant and applicable in the 21st century.

The Benedictine Institute Scholarship is an annually renewable scholarship. Candidates for the scholarship program are identified from the first-year applicant pool based on their academic records, leadership experience, service to others, and contributions to their schools or churches. During the spring semester, the University invites candidates onto campus for a day of activities including panel discussions and small group meetings with staff and faculty members.

The 2012-16 Benedictine Scholars are:

  • Josiah Dailey
    (West Anchorage High School, Anchorage, AK)
  • Dean Decker
    (Emerald Ridge High School, Puyallup, WA)
  • Cody Gilomen
    (Kentlake High School, Kent, WA)
  • Derrick Gonzales
    (Moses Lake Senior High School, Moses Lake, WA)
  • Renee Hudson
    (Everett High School, Everett, WA)
  • Garrett Mason
    (Mountlake Terrace High School, Mountlake Terrace, WA)
  • Dalia Pedro-Trujillo
    (Highline High School, Burien, WA)
  • Amy Pollard
    (Squalicum High School, Bellingham, WA)
  • Jerica Saucedo
    (Kent-Meridian High School, Snoqualmie, WA)
  • Annabel Warnell
    (Emerald Ridge High School, Puyallup, WA)